Minnesota Governor Signs Law Legalizing Marriage for Same-Sex Couples

Affiliate: ACLU of Minnesota
May 14, 2013 12:00 am

ACLU Affiliate
ACLU of Minnesota
Media Contact
125 Broad Street
18th Floor
New York, NY 10004
United States

CONTACT: 212-549-2666, media@aclu.org

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton signed a law legalizing marriage for same-sex couples today. Dayton signed the bill shortly after its passage by the state legislature.

Minnesota is now the twelfth state, in addition to the District of Columbia, to recognize marriage for same-sex couples. It joins Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Washington, New York, Iowa, Rhode Island, and as of last week, Delaware.

“It has been 40 years since the American Civil Liberties Union of Minnesota filed Baker v. Nelson, the first marriage equality case in the country,” said Charles Samuelson, executive director of the ACLU of Minnesota. “We are pleased that after 40 years of fighting for the freedom to marry, equality has finally been realized for all Minnesotans. We are glad to join the 11 other states and the District of Columbia in recognizing marriage for all loving committed couples.”

“We congratulate the people of Minnesota and all those who worked so hard to allow loving and committed couples the freedom to marry,” said James Esseks, director of the ACLU Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender Project. “It is thrilling to see Minnesota become the third state in just two weeks to grant same-sex couples the recognition and protection that only marriage can provide.”

By completing this form, I agree to receive occasional emails per the terms of the ACLU’s privacy policy.

The latest in LGBTQ Rights

ACLU's Vision

The American Civil Liberties Union is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to every person in this country by the Constitution and laws of the United States of America.

Learn More About LGBTQ Rights

LGBTQ issue image

The ACLU works to ensure that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer people can live openly without discrimination and enjoy equal rights, personal autonomy, and freedom of expression and association.